top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Velazco

Cover Design Research

Updated: Mar 1, 2023

Today in class we were discussing what programs we will be using to create our magazine covers for our final project. Here is my take on those options.







I found this photo on google just like the other two images I will be presenting in this post. This magazine covers apart from sharing the name of the app is also made with photoshop. I love that it looks slightly realistic but it is also very pretty since it is obvious that what is depicted on the cover is not real I like that thanks to photoshop you can also make it fun, science fiction, and not only realistic and it makes it look amazing as well.







This image was also found on google and it was created by using Canva, I like that is very simple but also very pretty and attractive to the eyes of the reader, and even though it looks very simple, I am also able to see that the design was well thought of and hard work was put into it.




This last photo, also found on google, was created using InDesign, I like the colors but also how realistic and simple they look, they look like hard work was put into them but it also looks attractive to the eye of the reader.


Each of the programs I have mentioned, Photoshop, Canva, and InDesign, are used all over the world to be able to make magazines.

Photoshop is a great program to make them with since it has a lot of options to use and it helps to make them more realistic or add a touch of realism to a cover that is fiction. This makes it easy for a lot of possibilities, however, I myself don't have a lot of experience with Photoshop and even though I have learned a lot with the last few blog posts of the composite images, I still don't have a lot of experience which makes it difficult and confusing to be able to use so many options for so many different things at the same time, but I have been able to find tutorials that might be helpful to teach me more on how to use photoshop.


Canve is a program that is simpler and I have used it various times before which means I have more experience in how to use it since I have been able to make mood boards and presentations on Canva. The problem with Canva is that it tends to be very limited, the content of the website itself can only be accessed without a watermark if you pay for premium, which I do not know if making a magazine with something that has a watermark is not something you want to do, uploading images can also be very difficult at times and it takes a lot of time and lastly the options to change presentation size it's very limited.


The last program is InDesign, this is a program that I have not yet used and I included it here because it not only looks amazing but I would actually like to learn how to use it, even if I just end up using it for fun and not for the final project.


I am still deciding between all these programs since I really like all the options that photoshop provides and maybe all the tutorials I have found will also teach me how to be able to use photoshop more easily and efficiently. I still will try to see if InDesign could be fun to use and to try something new and I will evaluate whether I could be able to use the options of Canva with the design I have in mind for my magazine cover.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Double Page Spread Outline

Today in class we have been talking about what we plan to do for our final article for our project, we had to choose a topic to talk...

Permissions

Today in class we were getting ready our permissions for where we were going to shoot our final photoshoots for our magazine projects....

Comments


bottom of page